Party on the 23rd.

I saw her.

I saw her as she waved her hands to me like those moe characters in an anime series. The shirt, that shirt was the same shirt. She was with another girl. I walked towards them.

“Hey!” She said.

“Hey.” I replied.

“Ryu, this is Suika. Suika, this is Ryu.” She said.

“Hi.” Suika said.

“Hi.” I replied.

“It’s been awhile, ne?” She said.

I nodded in reply. As if forgetting about my existence she and Suika were having this conversation about this random J pop group. They were laughing. She was laughing. I haven’t seen her laugh this way for awhile now.

“Ryu, are you listening?” She said.

“Huh?” I replied.

“Nothing. We’re here.” She said.

I entered her house. I removed my shoes and greeted her parents just like what Suika did. She signaled us to sit and she started preparing food. The smell of the food entered my system, it was heavenly. She handed me and Suika a plate each.

“Eat up! Don’t be shy.” She said. Suika and I stood up and began picking up what viand we want. A serving of beef stew and chicken later, we were back to our seats. She and Suika were engrossed in another conversation about how I resemble one of their schoolmates.

“Look. Even in holding a glass, they’re the same” Suika said.

“Yeah” She agreed.

After eating she asked us to go to her room. They continued talking and I gave some random remarks at times.

“Ringo, some more of your visitors arrived” Her mom said.

“Okay, I’ll be there in a minute” She said.

And she went down leaving me and Suika behind. This is getting awkward. We just played with her younger brother and cousin as we waited to come back. Moments later, her friends also started to go upstairs and started talking, leaving me with the toys feeling like an Alien.

“Ryu, are you okay?” She said.

“Yeah” I replied.

“I feel so haggard” She said.

“It’s okay.” I replied.

She was glistering with sweat. She look very stressed. But, I don’t even know why, she looks like an angel. An angel fighting in a war. She carefully ties her hair with an elastic as I stared at her. My heart beats faster than the normal. And I remembered what happened that fateful day.

I was on my way to the mall, where I was suppose to meet her after class, when my mom called. She told that my youngest brother was still not home and his service driver called that he can’t fetch my younger brother. Therefore, I should hurry and fetch him. I slowly put my phone down. I was mortified. I can’t tell my mom I have a date today, So I need to tell her that we can’t meet up today. Today was suppose to be our first date. Today was suppose to be our first date. I texted her. She replied. She told me not to talk to her anymore. I was lost. I didn’t know what to do. That fight lasted for days and on the 2nd week we broke up. I was really lost. I didn’t know what to do to make her forgive me. I just let her go. I don’t know how I can ask–beg her to stay. I really can’t understand why she got angry over that small stuff. I just let go.

“Do you wanna come with me?” She said.

“Yeah.” I nodded.

We were going to meet more of their friends. We meet them halfway. She ran to her boyfriend and gave him a smack. My heart stopped.Their friends were cheering. I stood at the sidelines.

When we got back her house I again stayed in her room and played with her younger brother. She was downstairs entertaining her visitor and guests. And when all her visitor left, I was still there. And there we faced the hot seat of her older cousins, intriguing us why we broke up. The hurt returned once more.I avoid the questions, pointing it to her. She was the one who decided to end things. She should know the answer, but she just shrugged.

Soon our common friend arrived. She was the reason why she insisted that I stayed.

We chatted.

We chatted about all the stuff that all of us could relate to. She was really sweet to me, at sometime she would look at me and smile, it would melt my heart. But no, all this sweetness is to directed to me, her best friend, the one who keeps her deepest, darkest secret. Her diary, the one whom she tells her misadventure s. Her Ryu, who was always there yet forever bitter.

She sends us home, walking us from her house to the highway. When we were left alone, my heart beats faster than ever. I feel her hand as it brushed against mine. And when she smiles at me, I can’t help but think of kissing her. She calls out a car for me, I looked at her, full of life. Then she smiled at me again, I really wanted to reach out and kiss her when I return back and rode the car.

Leave a Reply

